1.    #1  
    When I try to send messages through my e-mail account that I have setup through Snappermail I get this error message in the log.

SMTP Rcpt To: command failed: 550
    5.7.1 (the e-mail address)
    Relaying denied
    Duration: 16
    Try setting your smtp with "smtpauth" - it may require authentication.
  3.    #3  
    I hate to sound stupid, but I'm new with this Treo/Palm thing. How do I do "smtpauth"?
    Quote Originally Posted by k2bum
    When I try to send messages through my e-mail account that I have setup through Snappermail I get this error message in the log.

Relaying denied
    This message means something that you've entered in the SMTP area is wrong.
    ~ ScandaLous ~
    I hate to sound stupid, but I'm new with this Treo/Palm thing. How do I do "smtpauth"?
    Since your new, I'll try to help you the best way I know how; you didnt tell us who you use for email, so I cant say what information you have to supply. Once you respond to this post with whom your email provider is, someone may be able (if you cant find it) to provide you with the correct (POP3/SMTP) information.

Make sure your settings look like this:

Identity (top tab)

Your Name: whatever name you use to log in to that particular email address
    Email Address: Well, this would be your email address to the accouunt you are trying to set up.
    Reply to Address: this is optional, no info needs to be supplied here

Server (top tab)

Incoming Mail
    POP3: Find out the incoming POP mail server for your email account. That info will go in this space.
    Username: Again, whatever name you use to login to that account
    Password: Whatever your password you use to login to that account

Outgoing Mail
    SMTP: Find out what the outgoing (SMTP) mail server is for your email account. That info will go in this space.
    Username: Not necessary to fill in
    Password: Not necessary to fill in

Rules (top tab)