Global Posts
    22 Global Posts
    Hi all, I'm new to the Palm world so please be gentle. After wrestling with the clunky inconsistent interface (it's clear the phone software was an afterthought!) of my PocketPC-base XDA II Mini I have decided to purchase an unlocked PalmOne Treo 650, as after a quick try in the shops it just seems to work much more logically and suits single handed operation (to do anything with my mini, it's out with the stylus). The mini hardware itself is fantastic (except for the camera, which is extremely poor), it's just the software side of things that lets it down. PocketPC seems very good for people who want to use it like it's a little computer, but I already have a little laptop and need something logical and straightforward for when I am on the move, and the phone functionality is very important to me.

So, just a few questions to help me finalise my decision:

1. Now we've all heard the debates about multitasking vs non-multitasking. I personally think it's virtually moot since pocket apps run fullscreen anyway etc etc. What I would like to know though is.... if I am watching a DIVX movie or some app, can the unit still receive phonecalls? I am assuming yes, but want to be sure. What would happen to the movie app when the phone software springs up?

2. Are there ROM updates available (officially or unofficially) that rectify the lockups/resets and inefficient NVRAM issues I have been hearing about?

3. My intension with respect to RAM would be to install all my applications to memory card, leaving the NVRAM for data such as appointments/SMS/email/Notes. Is this ok to do?

4. Finally, are there any apps that allow me to store personal data such as credit card/bank details in a secure file that can be mounted via a password?

Thanks!
    Zet
    Last edited by zetsurin; 05/31/2005 at 08:42 PM.
    Global Posts
    962 Global Posts
    1. Never watched video, but I know of no apps that prevent phone calls from coming in.