Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    If you want to be heard on the other side of the phone convo, a boom mic is a must. Specifically a boom with noise-cancelling. I'm talking about being heard clearly in most conditions (windy, noisy, low volume).

I am (was) a software tester by trade, and I habitially test all products I buy. I've run extensive tests with the following headsets (see below) and the difference in sound quality and volume on the OTHER SIDE of the call was significantly improved with the full boom mic versions.

Many may not care what they sound like on the other side of the call, as long as it can generally heard and understood. I do.

With that said...here's a pic of my current favorite, the Logitech Mobile Bluetooth Headset (Amazon link) (really needs a model name).
    http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0...CLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

This is the older version, there's a new one now Logitech Mobile Pro Bluetooth Headset (Amazon link).

I've tried about 6 different bluetooth headsets with my Treo 650 (most of the board's favorites), and I've come to the conclusion that a boom is a must if you want to be heard in any environment.

Is it a vanity/fashion thing that people like the smaller, non-boom headsets? A classic case of form over function? If so, I can understand...that's just not my choice.

Let agree that talking on a headset already looks weird, and a wireless one even more so. I actually prefer to have a more obvious headset (within reason) so at least it's obvious (except from one side) that I'm talking on one.

What's your take?
    So I want a BT headset with the best sound quality. I thought that this looks best as it has the longest boom. You actually have this, right? And you have tried others, right? I am a business type who makes 40 or so calls a day in the office, in the car, walking to the car walking down the hall etc.
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by RichNY