1.    #1  
    might it be time for a chatter product that provides less nuts and bolts access for the growing class of non-techy, smartphone consumer?...

in the past two weeks i've had two friends purchase treo 650 phones based on their appreciation of and fascination with my 600 AND chatter email...

i should say that i am a huge fan of the "blackberry killer" aspect of chatter...and also add that i'm a bit of a tech-counselor for my friends and family (like most of you, i'm sure) and once i get behind a product or service i push it to everyone i know who could benefit from it...

i believe my two friends and their recent purchases represent a growing class of smartphone owners...these are people who are attracted to the technology and it's abilities..."a phone with a keyboard, perfect!"..."email that comes without downloading it, awesome!"..."i can put my outlook stuff in there? sweet!"...

now...these people don't care about, .prc files, feature requests, smtp logins...they don't really want to know what imap is if they don't have to...i know these things are no big deal to most of us...but it's important to understand that this growing class of users are REALLY one-dimensional in their purchase and use of these devices...

so, on two different phones, for two different friends in two weeks i've been their chatter email support representative...installing the trial versions, schooling them a bit along the way, explaining imap and alerts and q'syncs and nudges...the whole time thinking about when i first bought my blackberry from t-mobile...it was completely turn-key...you logged on initially, set up your tmail user id and password then told it what pop accounts you wanted it to query...and away you went...sweet...