1.    #1  
    i wanna pick up a bluetooth gps device

iTrek Bluetooth GPS
    that one works with mapopolis on the Palm

anyone have any experience with it

or any other suggestions

thanx
    I am using the Globalsat 338 Bluetooth unit which has just it the market. It uses the latest SiRFIII chipset and so is far more sensitive than other units. It also has a 15 hour battery life. Highly recomended. We have a thread about it over at www.gpspassion.com
    www.gpspassion.com
    Associate Writer, PalmAddict
  3.    #3  
    what is the software like
    and software does it use

im new to palm and gps
    so any help is appreciated
    thanks
    I have a Belkin Bluetooth GPS (same as the Fortuna ClipOn). I noticed they no longer have it at the Belkin site, though. It works well with the Treo. I was in Eurpoe a couple of weeks ago and was able to test it with Mapopolis software. Mapopolis has some free maps that you can try out for 9 days.

You should be able to use any Blutettoth unit that has NMEA output (I think most units on the market do, but there are some excpetions). These should work with any GPS software package.

From a software prespective the leading contenders for PalmOS are TomTom (www.tomtom.com) and Mapopolis (www.mapopolis.com). The latter provides a free viewer and you can download limited time demo maps so you can try it out. They also have a product called NavCard that comes with all the US maps loaded on a 1GB SD card. You just plug it in and it works.