Global Posts
    13 Global Posts
    I'm new to the Palm world and have been soaking up information from this site right and left. Could someone please explain the benefits of using wi-fi or DUN on the treo 650. I see lots of information on these topics, but no general information on what use you either of them for.

So far, I've strictly relied on the Sprint Vision Network to provide internet access, which seems to work great. I also have used VersaMail to connect to my email accounts...although still working through a port issue for my Exhange Server.

Thanks for any information you can provide.
    My understanding is that DUN is useful if you want to use your Treo as a cellular modem for your laptop. You can't use the GPRS or EDGE connection to passthrough bandwidth to the laptop.

From what I hear, WiFi will give you significantly faster data rates than GPRS or EDGE. It's also useful for people who want use their Treo's to access private LAN's that are not accessible over the internet (such as the LAN at their work).
    Unlocked GSM Palm 650.
    Folks who are on a pay-as-you-go data plan would also benefit from being able to use a free WiFi hotspot.
    Palm Pilot Personal -> Palm III -> Palm IIIx -> Visor Prism -> Clie TJ37 -> Treo 650 -> GSM Centro
    Quote Originally Posted by jetkins
    benefit from being able to use a free WiFi hotspot.
    nothing is free. someone, somewhere, somehow, is bearing an economic cost.
    Most of the places I go that have free wifi are cafes and the like. I tend to presume that their cost for providing the service is built in to the cost of the drinks and/or food, and make sure to buy stuff if I'm going to be soaking up their bandwidth.

At any rate, to answer the original question: Why DUN? To use a laptop in an environment *without* WiFi to get data access. Why Wifi? To use the data apps of a smartphone at a higher data rate and without per-minute charges.