1.    #1  
    Background: I have a friend who is always on-call. (He is a doctor) When he plays tennis, he cannot carry his Treo 650 (?) at the same time. Every few minutes, he must walk over to his Treo and check for missed calls as it is easy for the ring to be overpowered by outdoor noises.

I suggested to him that a Bluetooth headset may give him the freedom to move about the court (roughly 50 ft by 100 ft) without having to check his phone every few balls.

However, after reading through a few threads (namely this one), it seems like the headset makers only use Class 2 Bluetooth radios in their products limiting the effective range to a maximum of 10 meters. Although I have no experience with Bluetooth headsets, this does not seem enough to cover the court (estimate 17 m).

Question 1: Does any manufacturer make a Class 1 Bluetooth headset? The 100 meter range would more than sufficiently cover the court. It doesn't even need to be very small; just light enough that it won't fall off while running around.

Question 2: Regardless of range, the two front runners I see are the Cardo Scala-500 (10 M) and the Sony Ericsson HBH-660 (5 M). Would either of these devices work at a distance greater than the stated range? It only needs to ring at that distance. A mini Treo beeper of sorts. He will come back to the Treo if he gets a call. It would be great if anyone can comment about the 660 specifically as it would be a nice feature to have the phone number show up in the case of an incoming call.

Question 3: Is there any other product that may solve this little dilemma?

Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by plazmo; 03/09/2005 at 01:51 PM.
    Even with the stated 10 meters (30 feet) the reality is that you start experiencing static when you walk more than two meters away from your phone. The peformance is unacceptable, if not impossible, at the stated range.
  3.    #3