Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Greetings TreoCentral Gang!

I've been monitoring this site for over 6 months, waiting for the 650 to come out, and then to come out in GSM form from Cingular. When that finally happened, I got one. Notwithstanding the now well known voicemail issue, I was a really happy camper until a few days ago, when my 650 started dropping calls and doing a soft reset immediately upon answering them, and sometimes before I even got a chance to answer. It also occasionally did a soft reset upon dialing a call. Yesterday Cingular sent me a replacement 650 under warranty, which should be here by Monday, and I figured I'd suffer with an old Nokia until it arrives.

Today, in a chance conversation with a sales person at a Cingular retail store, I was told that the problem was discovered yesterday: the 650 isn't compatible with certain SIM cards, specifically those ending in "G." I went in and had my SIM card replaced with one ending in A and all was right with the world (even the pre-set voicemail keys now worked!) - for a few hours. Once again the device dropped calls and did a soft reset immediately upon answering. Strangely the voicemail feature still works, but that's not doing me much good when I can't receive calls, so I'm back to the Nokia.

This issue may have been discussed on this forum already, and if it was, I apologize, but does anyone have any idea what's going on? Have others experienced this problem? Fyi, I have loaded no external software. All I did was Hot Sync my [3000+] contacts from Outlook, which has worked flawlessly every time. Also, the phone behaves the same way when it's hooked up to the charger, so I don't think it's a battery/power issue.