1. Ian
    I am a psychologist, under supervised practice (need to say that last bit while getting licensed to cover my **** legally), who keeps confidential patient information (patient names, phone numbers,appointment times, some meeting/planning notes, etc.) in my PDA.

It is important for me to be able to maintain the confidentiality of that information, but if my PDA is lost or turned on by someone other than myself, I can't do that. Also, given that I check my schedule NUMEROUS times daily, and turn the unit on & off many times, I don't want a program that requires a complex password/unlock procedure.

Can anyone recommend a good security program that I might use for this purpose? I'd be particularly interested in hearing from other mental health pros or physicians, as I figure they'd have similar usage patterns as myself.

Thanks.
    Ian,

You might want to look at Secure Memo from Certicom http://download.certicom.com

Secure memo is a replacement for the standard Memo Pad on the Visor. It uses Public Key encryption so you only need to enter a password when you want to decrypt an entry. Since it uses the Memo Pad database, it hotsyncs to the Palm Desktop. When you view an encrypted entry with either the Palm Desktop or the default Memo Pad, it just appears to be random characters.

Also, it is free

Ed

[This message has been edited by davignon (edited 04-18-2000).]

[This message has been edited by davignon (edited 04-18-2000).]
    JotLoc gets my seal of approval. You may also want to investigate TealLoc. JotLoc allows you to get in by using the system password. OR you can assign it a "passpic", which is some sort of continuous line you draw. Such as, the first few letters of your signature. It uses a really good algorithm to generate a score, and based upon higher scores, it'll open up the device. When turned on, you can also have it show the owner information.