Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Wow...just bought my Treo 650 today from Sprint and found this forum as I was surfing around... :-)

It looks great and I am thrilled with having a cell phone and PDA in ONE package!

Got some software questions for those who may be 'in the know' here though...

1) I like both Yahoo and AOL instant messenger and have been looking at some chat programs tonight without downloading them.
    * Verichat looks nice - does anyone here use it?

*AirIM also looks nice but I don't know if it works for the 650 or just the 600? Anyone compared the two?

2) I'm an AOL user (yeah...I know it sucks...but anyway... :-) ) and I saw that there is an AOL program - but as far as I can see they don't support 650 yet.. Any AOL users here that have any experience or recommendations for good applications on a 650? :-)

3) Connecting to my 'work email'.
    I'm studying right now but I have a part time job at a company here in San Francisco where I use Micrsoft Outlook and they even installed a VPN (?) connection on my laptop so I can do some work from home/school (it's graphic design stuff). Now I would LOVE to be able to get and send emails with that outlook account just like the black berry boys do. Can I?!? :-)

That's it for now..I know real newbie questions..but I've only had it for hmm.....7 hours.. :-)

Thanks in advance!!
    Congrats on your purchase

1. Lots of folks on the board use Verichat and really like it. Check out Causerie as well (www.mantragroup.com)

2. I think people use either Versamail or Snappermail to connect to AOL, a whole lot more stable

3. Leave work at work Depends on the type of VPN (IPSec vs. PPTP) being used assuming the email server is behind the firewall and you can only connect to it via VPN. Also might need assistance from the IT group to supply you with some information to get it working that they may not so readily give out. Check out this thread for some more info: