Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I am a newbie awaiting the arrival of an IDX. I've been downloading software and reading various discussions on the very informative VisoCentral while my Visor creeps its way to my home.

I would like to know any "Dos and Don'ts of
    Hacks" and the risk involved as well as any success stories and failures.

So far I've learned that I need the HackMaster program to run hacks and HackDelete to remove them. I also need to deactivate a Hack before removal.
    Yes, you do need HackMaster to utilize the hacks that you download. I was aware of HackDelete, although it is a great idea. I always used the built-in Delete app to get rid of hacks (command-D).

The risks are many, from a hack working perfectly, to performing a hard reset and nuking all of your data. The payoff is the ultimate personalization of your PDA that makes you feel like the guy in the beer commercial that gets all the women (well, at least that's how the movie goes in MY head).

With that said..........

DO hotsync *before* you install any hacks, then install them and sync to add them to your PDA.

DO backup your PDA before a new hack. Use the Backup springboard or a program like BackupBuddyNG. If you do a hard reset, you are stuck re-installing all those apps you found, if you can remember which ones you did, and if you did delete them from your PC.

DO go into the hack config, if it has it (little plus sign on the right hand side). A lot of hacks have customizable features, and the defaults may not be your personal favorite.

DON'T install more than one hack at a time. If something goes wrong, you will know what caused it.

DON'T get frustrated. Soft resets are a way of life.

DON'T give up on a hack you think you like (need?). Some hacks work fine on their own, but conflict with others. Try disabling the other hacks and only running one at a time at first. If it works, then add the others.

And for a point of refernce, here are the hacks I use: