Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Dont try this at home, but this happened to my new treo650. I leaning over my sea wall and my treo 650 fell out of my pocket and into the water completely submerged for around 30 Seconds. I saw bubbles coming up from it (which is how I found it in the water). I immediately took the battery out and let it stand overnight. I actually program handhelds for a living (mostly Symbol 2800's, which are IP54 rated). to my GREAT suprise, the next day I plugged in the battery, and wala, I say the TREO graphic!!!!! It took 3 days for the screen to come back completed, but is is working perfectly now. I can't believe it. Way to go HTC (the best manufacturer of Handhelds)
    now for consistent keyboards screens and headphone jacks. Those are the reason I'm on my 4th 650. Don't get me wrong...I'm as big a treo nut as there is but...
    Wow. Cool. :-)
    Global Posts
    571 Global Posts
    Just wait till the corrosion sets in and the contacts begin to turn green, You may not see it now but you should do everything you can to get it changed out
    Your in trouble if its salt water.
    Global Posts
    553 Global Posts
    That happened a few phones we have! My sis' V600, Nokia 8290, my Samsung, and one other phone. I do have insurance on my cell plan but I didn't have to use it at all.
    A quick dunking in fresh water should do little harm, especially if you dry it out well. I would suggest drying it off with a towel (inside and out), shaking out loose water, putting it in a warm, dry place packed in a waterproof box filled with those little hygroscopic packets (the kind that they pack with about every new electronic thing these days). This completely resurrected a Treo 180 I once had and *no* corrosion, even 3 years later. But three years from now who will care about an antique Treo?