1. Ken
    I'm new to all of this, so bear with me ... I'm buying the GVD, my FIRST PDA. I've read a lot on this web site about getting extra software from palmgear.com. So, I checked it out ... and now I'm confused.

Can someone explain to me the difference between DOWNLOADING a zip file and PURCHASING a zip file? Take HackMaster for example. I can either download the zip file for FREE, or I can order it for $5, right? Am I missing something here? Is it ALL freeware, or are there some strings attached??? (Remember, I'm a newbie - give me grace).

Also - is there MS Word-type software for the OS? Can you transfer stuff from your Visor to MS Word?

Thanks for the help,
    ken
  2. Ken
    Forget that last question of mine. I just read about Documents to Go and TealDoc.

Which is better for using with MS Word?
    ken...
    grace is given - but, here's what you need to know.

palmgear, and any other site out there that has downloadable software for that matter, lets you download a trial version of whatever you are interested in for free - for a limited time - after you have used the app or hack or whatever for a while, it will stop working until you register it by paying for it either through the merchant or the author. so hackmaster can be downloaded and installed, for example - but you've gotta pay someone the five smackers if you wanna keep it. this is a good system for figuring out what you like, what works for you, and what fouls the system up, all for free before you commit - think of it as dating.

as for editing documents - i like smartdoc, personally.

matty.

4. Ken
    Matty,

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I was afraid that the PalmPolice might come after me if I downloaded their stuff for "free." But what you said makes sense. Thanks a ton.

Smartdoc, eh? I'll check it out.
    What does "using with MS Word" mean to you?