Global Posts
    389 Global Posts
    Hi Guys and Girls,

Having about 4 weeks to wait for a IVD has given me alot of time to decide on styli, cases and software. I am planning on downloading some software to fill up some of that 8 megs of space.I am somewhat a computer neophyte and I don't have my visor yet.I have never used a pda before so these questions may be answered when I recieve my Visor, but I a bit anxious to get the ball rolling. Can I download programs from Palmgear now, then hotsync it into my Visor when I recieve it, or do you download directly into your Visor. I read a post regarding datebook3 being better then the visor datebook, do other Datebook3 users agree? Is Bugme necessary with datebook3?

Thanks for your help!
    No problems with downloading the files now. I would only note that from personal experience, this only makes the waiting worse................

The files that you download will most likely (but not always) be zipped up. When you unzip them, you are left with files that have .PRC and .PDB extensions. The software that comes with your Visor has an installation tool that you use to look for these files and add them to a queue. The next time you HotSync your Visor, these files in queue will be installed to your Visor (as long as you have enough free memory on your Visor) and removed from the queue. It's that easy.

I can't help witht the Datebook issue, since I upgraded from a Pilot1000, and think that Datebook3 is a huge improvement over the first Datebook.
    Datebook+ is essentially DateBk3 lite, so DateBk3 is better than the Visor's Datebook+; however, not $20 better in my opinion. (I had DateBk3 on my Palm IIIx.)

Yes, BugMe! is still a must-have app. Its functions and DateBk3's do not really overlap. BTW, I recommend checking out DiddleBug instead of BugMe! for price reasons.

Hope this helps, and welcome to the world of PDA's

tyler

[This message has been edited by tyler (edited 12-20-1999).]