1.    #1  
    According to Sun, there is a Java 2 Micro Edition out/coming out http://java.sun.com/j2me/ that is designed for handhelds, and was supposed to be on display at Palm Source. It's upwardly compatible to Java 2 Standard and Java 2 Enterprise editions.

Anybody know anything about it, able to slip me a copy (alpha, beta, released, other)?

Other than that, what's a good (free or cheap) way to program the palms? I know C, C++, Assembly, a little Java, Perl (would be cool but perl/tk sucked the last I saw it), and a few others. I saw one guy who had a Forth compiler, but I don't know Forth.

I'd like to write some stuff for work (I work in manufacturing, and I think an interface to a LIMS, MES, or similar system would be useful), and to add to the variety of freeware out there.

Speaking of freeware, is there anybody out there doing open source palm stuff out there? The springboard being open source was one of the reasons that I bought my Visor. Maybe we could start the GNP project (GNP's not Palm :-)
    Go to http://www.roadcoders.com and your find plenty of resources.

There are versions of Basic (CBASPAD), C (Pocket-C), Forth (QuartisForth) and Java (Jump). As well as CASL which was discussed on VC a while back.

------------------
    -Eric
    VisorCentral Staff
    J2ME or the KVM is going to let you use Java to program on the Palm...

There is a developer release available at www.javasoft.com but it's still in a very early (0.1) state...

You might want to wait a bit before starting on a KVM app...
  4.    #4  
    Well, I'm downloading the KVM right now. With it being 0.1, I'll be happy if it unzips. Hopefully I can get at least up to snuff with what they are up to.

Now if I can just get perl for palm. With 8 megs it should be able to fit. And it is written in C. Hmmm. Anybody want to work on it?

5.    #5