Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    So instead complaining about how bad everything is, I'm proposing solutions for P1/PS if for no other reason than to show it can be done, and done with just an OS upgrade. In all honesty they've probably already thought of these and I hope they'll implement them or something similar.

Disclaimers: I am a software engineer but I do not work for P1/PS or have any special knowledge of the Palm OS internals. I do think these are real problems but I'm still going to get a 650 and I'm going to enjoy the hell out of it.

There are two steps backward with the 650 and they're both due to NVRAM: speed and memory bloat.

Speed

The 650 has a faster processor than the 600 so the only thing that can be slowing it down is the RAM-NV swapping. Reading from NV to RAM before execution is usually an unavoidable delay. However, writing it back can be handled much better.

The SD card benchmarks that have been posted here show that writing is an order of magnitude slower than reading, and NV should be similar. I'm guessing they're using the simple, easy to implement way of just writing everything back when a program closes and then starting the new program. Since writing is slower, the delay in switching is probably caused by the old program closing much more than the new program opening. They should be caching the write and doing it in the background.

So this is the new scenario. There's a write cache in RAM. Like on a desktop computer, when anything looks to the disk the OS first checks the cache and then goes to disk if it's not there, so there's no risk of reading something outdated before the write takes place. So the new program starts immediately (or rather, starts moving from NV to RAM immediately) without the write, which should remove most of the delay. The cache is emptied in idle time in the background, so it doesn't slow down the executing program.