1.    #1  
    K...I've been a manager in retail for quite a while. I won't mention where, But you can trust that It was a multi-billion dollar corporation. Having that experience, I know how and why Corporations make decisoions that might be surprizing to customers...

Believe it or not, most decisions are made by YOU, the customer... NOT in what you say or hear, BUT simply by what you BUY and some cases use!!! I'm sure palmone, as did my company, ran thousands upon thousands of tests, data integrity, "LY" , "comps", etc...just so they could understand what is hot and what people are buying AND what people WILL buy.

If they sold 600,000 units of treo 600s last year and jumped AHEAD of microsofts market. I'd say they had a hell of a year!!! (Anything doing better than microsoft is having a hell of a year.) Maybe, in there data ananlysis, they realized that people just don't use the camera that much. So why put a much more expensive camera in there, that might end up turning people away. Furthermore if the treo 600 is selling, WHY would they want to change it that much...

They gave us a LOT of bonus already...I don't need to list them...but I'd say not having a 1.3 megapixel camera isn't a loss. It was there to begin with SELLING model, so they tweaked it a bit and kept it for the current model. The Treo 650 is a beauty...

Anyone else care to elaberate???
    Last edited by JOV3; 10/26/2004 at 01:27 AM.
    Well said. I'm SHOCKED that there's more outrage over the 650's missing Wi-Fi and 23MB RAM than there was for the 600's lo-res screen.

I'd say the net effect among users leaving and coming will make the 650 more popular than the 600 could ever be. If for no other reason, the 650 provides a convergence option for EXISTING users of hi-res Palm OS devices who are not about to compromise thier hi-res screens.
    What people do not realize is that the camera is a higher quality camera that will produce better quanlity photos.