1.    #1  
    I am new to the Treo World and I am curious to know if the Treo 6XX has the ability to function as a USB Mass Storage device/SD Reader/Witer for PCs without installing any software onto the PC (other than a possible Device Driver). With the advent of larger SD cards, 1gb+, it would be awesome to use your phone/pda/mp3 player as a storage device to transfer files to/from PC with the use of a USB Connector (This would be primariliy a question geared towards PCs without bluetooth.)

Thanks,

OptimalCapacity
    ever try to transfer a gig of data through a treo cable? Better to do it before you go to sleep, probably will be done by the time you wake up.
    It can be done; the best example is CardExport2, which will allow you to plug your Treo into a USB port and mount the SD card as a disk on a Win2K desktop without Windows software. Of course it will only work at USB1 speed (up to 1.5Mbs), which is pretty sluggish compared to buying a USB2 disk dongle which would set you back around $30 for up to a 480Mbs transfer rate.
  4.    #4  
    Sorry to hear the transfer rate of the USB is so slow! Thanks for the information!
    Quote Originally Posted by optimalcapacity
    Sorry to hear the transfer rate of the USB is so slow! Thanks for the information!
    its usb1.1 afterall
    no worries
    I use card export and yes it is slow but thats not the fault of card export it's just that 1.1 is to slow.

Dean
    Card export rocks.

As for "mass storage" though, 1G is as "mass" as you can get. 1G SD Card + Card export makes life great going between home and work.
    Gabe Kangas
    Achievatron 2004 - ?
    Visor Deluxe -> Treo 300 -> TREO 600 -> Treo 650
    Am I missing something here? Storing files on my SD Card (that lives in my treo) using a cheap $10 USB SD Card Reader makes Treo 600 a great (and safe) mass storage device.
    Quote Originally Posted by treoKing