1.    #1  
    I'm trying to see if I can add a script (or app on my Linux webserver) on one of my websites that will give a SMS interface to send to my Treo 600 on VZW.

Wish list:
    1. a form with fields for the website visitor to fill out (name, return email address, message)
    2. configured for my specific SMS address
    3. the fields have a built in total character counter that counts down from 160 (VZW, ugh!)
    4. and of course, a SEND button

Anyone know of such animal?
    thnx!
  2.    #2  
    Well, after lots of hacking around various scripts, I came up with this solution for one of my sites. I'm not a programmer, rather a hack/script kiddie. Couldn't get the form that sends the SMS message, to have an embedded character counter (I'm on VZW with its 160 character limit), and still have it work. So, I simply added another form field that counts the characters which folks can cut/paste into the SMS message form. Also couldn't get multiple fields, like name, email address & message to send, so have only 1 field for this all.

I wanted only a single file to implement, as oppose to have to call a perl script like formmail.pl. So this is done in PHP using phpmail.php as the original script (deleting some fields that didn't SMS), added a character counter script from another source, then pretty'd up the html output. Everything used is open source or a free script.

Feel free to improve this and post here!

Instructions:
    1. change YOURNAME and YOUR-ID (set for VZW) in the script.
    2. change the character count limit (I have 143 to get all of the message due to the email address from the webserver itself being sent as the originator).
    3. save the file in any simple text editor (though I used UltraEdit-32) as a PHP file.
    4. I saved this script as index.php, and placed it into a subdirectory named "mobile" on one of my sites (of course, the webserver has PHP), so all one had to do is type: "www.mydomain.com/mobile" to get to this page.