View Poll Results: Which is the best chat application?

Voters
75. You may not vote on this poll
  • Verichat

50 66.67%
  • Causerie

11 14.67%
  • Chatopus

6 8.00%
  • Something else??!

8 10.67%
    Global Posts
    71 Global Posts
    Ok - I'm new to the Treo and am looking for the ability to run a unified chat client. I've played with Verichat, Causerie and Chatopus - which is the best?
    add chatter to the list (although marc isnt adding new accounts)
    I have and use Chatter, have and use Causerie, have and do not use any more Verichat. Support has been good with Chatter and Causerie. Chatter's IM is no longer under development. Causerie is under development. Both do an excellent job. The user interface with Causerie is good and Verichat is a bit too busy for my tastes.

Verichat supports SMS and data. Causersie at this writing supports only data (SMS in a future release).

So, of the two listed, I move for Causerie up front. Ben
    The best, for me, right now is Chatter. Therefore, I would have to choose 'Other'. Like Ben said though, it is not being worked on right now as Marc is a bit busy with IMAP He also is not creating new IM accounts.

I also use both Causerie and Chatopus. The GUI of Causerie is definitely better than that of Chatopus. (I prefer the unified view presented by Chatter to the GUI of either Causerie or Chatopus.)

Causerie seems to be putting in features at a much more responsive and rapid pace than Chatopus. It seems like Chatopus is somewhat quicker to pick up messages and somewhat more stable than Causerie though. I also like the fact that Chatopus is a one time payment and is NOT tied to a single server. (It helps to have messed around with jabber to run Chatopus though.)

I used verichat last year and never renewed. I can't compare the version I used to what is available now.