Global Posts
    9 Global Posts
    OKAY HERE IS THE PROBLEM.

I already own a Tungsten T. I have been using it for over 10 months now. I recently received a TREO 600. I tried to uninstal Palm software (which I did correctly)! But when I try to install the new software and run PALM DESKTOP it sti shows the old icons from my previous Palm T! ( In particular Notepad & Voice Memo) as well as software which I have uninstalled (PDA WALLET Software)!

I guess what I am trying to find out is if I can remove any other PALM backup files that might be on my pc?

I would like to start from scratch.

Thanks for looking!
    I assume you tried to restore from the TT installation? Wow! you can copy a few things over like the address book and similar apps with no troubles, making sure of course that you have it set properly to either sync the files or overwrite the handheld device. If the setting is wrong, you stand a strong chance of loosing your databooke/address book,e t cetera.

The best thing to do is to just move the backup file or rename it to something you will know what it is and then install the apps - this ensures that no system files will be over written on the device.

This also gives you a good opportunity to either upgrade the software you have or get rid of, and so on.

Palm recommends deleting the old desktop and installing the new desktop. You loose no information this way, as it does not remove the user information.

Again though, move the old stuff, copy the datebook/address book, et cetera from the moved folder to the new folder and then hot sync. After that has been done and everything is ok, then set your defaults on the palm desktop to something like device overwrites the desktop or maybe even better, to do nothing at all. Then start installing your software. Sometimes just hotsyncing over all of the programs will cause you problems. It is more desirable to just install new - that way, none of the old stuff gets into the new device.

Ben
    Global Posts