Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I just registered but I have been following the rumors on this board the past week. I am a student and own a Palm Tungsten E and one of those prepay cell phones. Ever since I started reading about the Treo 600, I have felt that it would be a cool gadget and make a lot more sense than carrying around two devices. The trouble with it all is cost. I think a good chunk of students use their phones alot, and the ability to add a good organizer to that would be very appealing. I really hope that many of you are right about your predictions on a Treo family, and I hope there are high end models for the power users many of you seem to be, as well as some low end models for students and beginners. For me personally, I would love something similar to a Treo that is around $200-$250, but maybe that is wishful thinking.
    If I were a betting man, I would wager than once the next Treo comes out, the price of the current Treo will be affordable to you.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    Global Posts
    746 Global Posts
    You can get a Treo 600 for $200. Sign up a contract with AT&T, you are going to have to sign up with someone, espiecally since you are prepaid now, might aswell get something out of the deal. I dont really see it selling to college students though.

1) Durability. If you drop this like your free Nokia phone, it WILL break.
    2) Lazy. Most of the students I know are too lazy to add appointments and school projects to the organizer. They think their time is precious and no other person before them has ever had as busy a schedule as they currently posses.
    3) Niche. This is a niche product. Currently for the tech oriented. I manage a grocery store. I see 1300 people a day. I have met less than 2 dozen who own and use PDAs. My boss was the first person I ever met who had and USED one.