1.    #1  
    Dear all,
    I just joined this forum. I am absolute new to the smartphone world and I just received a Treo 180. It has GPRS , Blazer is working fine but when I am trying to set up the email, I always receive the mentioned message. The SIM is OK and works with other phones.
    Can somebody help me please ? I noticed most of you have extensive experience.
    Thank you very much in advance.
  2. rch
    Heh I am new to the smartphone world myself and I ran into the same problem. Does your phone work at all? Does it find any networks?
    Also, check if you have GPRS update installed. Go to App launcher/Prefs/Network (on the top right). If you see GPRS there, then you have the update (which is good), but it also means that your CD is out of date and won't work by returning the aforementioned error.

Meanwhile, my phone actually works for both voice calls and GPRS. Does yours work?
    This is from Pa1mOne's knowledgebase:

How do I avoid the error "Setup cannot read your service provider's name from your SIM card. Do you want to try again?" when installing Palm Desktop for Treo?
    This error can occur when your SIM has not fully registered to the wireless network and you attempt a HotSync operation after configuring your Treo communicator for Internet access. It can also occur when there is a miscommunication between your Treo and the desktop computer, or when your System conduit is configured improperly.

Click here for larger image in new window.
    To return, close the new window.

Can you make a phone call?
    Try it. If you can't, your SIM may be damaged. Contact your mobile service provider for further assistance or a replacement SIM.

If you can make a phone call, your SIM is probably okay. Follow the steps below.

What to do: Configure Your Treo application is running
    If you're using the Configure Your Treo wizard, try these next steps. If you're not using this application when the error occurs, skip to the next section.