1.    #1  
    Can anyone out there recommend a good database? I am a programmer and would like to maintain a database of syntax and API's that I don't commonly use. I am looking for something similar to Access i.e. a program that allows you to define your own tables, forms and reports.
    Global Posts
    789 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmas
    Can anyone out there recommend a good database? I am a programmer and would like to maintain a database of syntax and API's that I don't commonly use. I am looking for something similar to Access i.e. a program that allows you to define your own tables, forms and reports.

Have been using it for a week or so, works great, and does sync with access
    Yes, SmartList by DataViz. Works quite well and does have vfs-support (HandBase does not for file sync).
    Last edited by Marit; 08/25/2004 at 09:47 AM.
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by Marit
    Yes, SmartList by DataViz. Works quite well and does have vfs-support (HandBase does not for file sync).
    I downloaded HanDbase looks quite powerful and it syncs onto the desktop but I will also give SmartList a go as HanDBase cost $40
    I like HanDBase better. SmartList is $50; does not have a Mac desktop component and only sync's with Access (not with Filemaker). HanDBase has a very slick Runtime generator for those is a business/corporate environment.
  6.    #6  
    At $10 cheaper I must say HanDBase looks like the more attractive option. I am not looking for anything too powerful and both these apps meet my requirements. So it looks like it's down to price
    I do have both, because I was using HanDBase on a pocketpc and I am now using SmartList, because HanDBase does NOT allow sync with a database on the SD card and I did just not have enough space on the Treo.
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmas
    I downloaded HanDbase looks quite powerful and it syncs onto the desktop but I will also give SmartList a go as HanDBase cost $40