1.    #1  
    I am relatively new to this whole 'push mail' phenomenon and the more I learn, the more I see I can use. Can someone bear with me long enough to explain all this POP and IMAP and server stuff to me? I have a yahoo account and my PCS email account that I would like to access via the integrated mail program, since staying online risks missed calls and for some reason, all of my yahoo emails get cutoff at an undefined point. Can someone clear up these terms and how this stuff all works? Thanks!
    Take a moment and look at Marc Blank's site, http://www.imchatter.com -- it has a bit on it and it has also been discussed here. Very briefly though and not in a complete sense - POP3 is basically designed to normally download and delete that mail from the server. The mail that you download is available only on the device it was downloaded to, be it a PDA or the desktop, et cetea. IMAP though is a bit different. Your mail stays on the server and regardless of where it is viewed from, it is the same mail. How's that? What you see on the desktop is basically the same as the PDA. The advantage of "push mail" is that once mail hits a "push mail" capable system (such as Fastmail), it is then "pushed" on to the device or desktop through an "always on connection," one of the fortes of the Treo series. The data sent to the device can either be the entire message, part of the message, a header, et cetera. In addition to being pushed to the device, it also is retained on the server.