1.    #1  
    Evaluation of Five Voice Recorders for the Treo 600.
    By Terry Barker-- June 30, 2004

My boss, a big Treo 600 fan, appointed me to “find the best voice recorder for my needs”. He guided me to Treocentral to start my search. I was not expecting to find five different programs, since not long ago I found none. Since I am a writer by nature, I will share my results.

The five programs I evaluated are two from Audacity Audio, the Audacity DVR Personal at $ 29.99 and the Audacity DVR Professional/LAM-S package at $ 99.99. Web site is www.AudacityAudio.com. The next is SoundRec by Ryan Rife at www.Infinityball.com. It is a free program with a suggested donation. P.A.R. (Personal Audio Recorder) is offered by Toysoft, www.toysoft.ca for $ 14.95. The last is mVoice by Motion Apps, www.MotionApps.com for $ 24.99. I attempted to list these in the order that they appeared to enter the market.

First, let me explain my boss’s needs. Mainly, he wants something to take quick notes while driving. That was requirement number one. Everything else was secondary, but still important. He wants the ability to dictate and send the files from his desktop. He also wants the ability to send files while on the road. He is a long time recorder user and wanted the full functionality of his Sony recorder. He is also value conscious, but functionality is more important; i.e., he didn’t reject the $99.99 package of Audacity Audio for price alone, if the value could support it.

First, I will provide a summary of the highlights of my findings and actions, and then some of the details of the individual products. We ended up choosing the Audacity DVR Professional/LAM-S package even though it was the most expensive. The bottom line—it was the best value. It did what we needed. Let me explain.