1.    #1  
    I've been trying to get my treo to sync. I'm a linux newbie and have no understanding of how to get things to work. I have installed Suse 9.1 which uses the 2.6 kernel. I have no problems using USB drives, a USB keyboard and mouse.

I lauched kpilot and it gets to "Device link ready", but nothing happen when I click the sync button (on both the device and on kpilot).

I'm sure there has to be some linux users out there. Please help.
    id be interested in hearing if there are any linux users with treos as well. linux is becoming a popular alternative to windows particularly in europe.
    is it possible to sync with linux?
    Global Posts
    320 Global Posts
    Yes I use my treo with Linux, I don't sync up the contacts/addresses etc I never bothered setting any of that side up. I simply use kpilot to install apps on the Treo (previously my tungsten E and SJ22 before that), and kpilot can also perform a complete backup/restore and I use the backup from time to time...... I also use Palm Desktop at work as Windows XP there....

Now for cookie in the kpilot settings where have you told it to look for the pilot in /dev/pilot or /dev/usb/ttyUSB1

To be honest it may be better to look on a suse help forum for this stuff you should be able to find details instructions for using palms with suse (as with any linux distribution) the instructions are the same no matter which usb based palm device you are using.....

A key rundown of what you are to do:

- make sure you are loading usb modules (you probably are I would guess)
    - load the visor module
    - find out which usb device usually /dev/usb/ttyUSB1 or /dev/usb/ttyUSB0
    - chmod 666 /dev/usb/ttyUSB1 or /dev/usb/ttyUSB0 whichever it was
    - create a symlink to this dev to /dev/pilot (just easier to remmeber then