1.    #1  
    Hi, what is the most effective way to use Treo 600 (SMS) as a pager?
    Is there a service that forwards paging (number/text) to SMS?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
    good question I've often wondered. I know that with Sprint if you miss a call and it goes to voicemail, the caller has the option to leave a voice message or a number. if they simply leave a number you will receive a SMS.
    <body bgcolor="#ffffff">
    <p><font size="-2" color="#4684ff" face="Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular"><b>imageone</b></font><font size="-2" face="Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular"> &#x2022; current - <b>PowerBook G4 - Mac OS X - white iPod video 60GB - Treo 650 - 700p (Sprint)<br>
    </b></font><font size="-2" face="Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular">retired - Visor Deluxe - Visor Prism - Kyocera 6035 - Treo 300 - Treo 600 - Blackberry 7250</font></p>
    </body>
    Hello. I am a private practice physician and use my Treo 600 as a pager.

I simply changed my message to say,

"Hello, you have reached . . ., To leave a numeric pager, please press 2. Or you can leave a voice message and I will call you back as soon as possible"

This works great. I highly recommend Treo Alert from www.pdaapps.com
    You can tell your Treo how often to “nag” you if you missed a call/page/SMS; ie: 1 minute, 2 minutes, 30 minutes, etc. This should be have been part of the basic phone program, maybe on the next generation of Treos.

If you are in an area without service, you will get your message/page when you return to an area with service. Regular (one-way) pagers cannot do this.

When a hospital, nurse, or doctor tries to page me and I answer the phone, there is usually a few seconds of confusion, but they are pleased to have a real voice instead of a recording.

The best part is that I only carry ONE device, not a bandoleer of cell phone, PDA, and one (maybe more) pager.

Russell