1.    #1  
    I have a laptop which has a native SD reader built in. I plug in a card, and it reads it as drive E:. (Panasonic Toughbook, if anyone cares.)

Now, I send a couple files (PDF docs) and one folder to the card. They're there, no problem.

But when I put the card in the phone and look at it, there's nothing showing on the card at all. Do I have to do anything else? When I first took the card out of the package, I put it in the phone, saw that the phone recognized it (Lexar, 256MB) and then put it in the PC. There is a Palm folder there.

I tried putting the files in the Palm folder and looking again. They aren't on the card, or at least, the phone doesn't think so. What am I doing wrong? I've never worked with SD cards before.

Thanks,

Billy

Do I need to
  2.    #2  
    Ah. Figured out that I need to format the card. However, docs are not appearing.

Is it correct that it will only recognize CERTAIN documents?
    Do you have the appropriate application installed on the phone to view the docs? For instance, if you are putting Word Documents on the card you would need to have an application such as QuickOffice or Documents to Go to be able to view them.
    Just to be clear, you cannot view native pdf docs on palmos (that ecept for clies with Picsel viewer). You need to use the desktop conduit to convert them first. Also as zoomjiuce stated, you need DTG or quickoffice to view native MS docs...

Current device: Palm Pre
    Device graveyard: Palm Vx, Cassiopeia E100, LG Phenom HPC, Palm M515, Treo 300, Treo 600, Treo 650, Treo 700p, Axim X50v, Treo 800w

Please don't PM me about my avatar. For more info go here.

Restore your Pre to factory settings using webos doctor and follow these instructions
  5.    #5  
    So if I'm understand you guys correctly, I can't just store certain files on the SD for use (I have price lists that I don't want to view, but do want to carry) just for emailing on demand and stuff like that?