1.    #1  
    I just got my new Treo from Palm One and activated it with Cingular service.

Issue #1 - before purchasing I noticed there was no place in the order to say "I want to change my number from x to Cingular". I called support and they said no problem, do this when you get the phone.

Issue #2 - I called Cingular today and they told me the SIM card in the phone already has been activated and the only way they can help me is sell me a new SIM card from $25-$35 dollars with my ATT number on it (not sure why the price variation - I didn't ask).

At this point, I guess I go to a Cingular kiosk or store in the mall and get some help.

If this is true, I am pissed at Palm One though. This whole issue could have been avoided.

Suggestions? I searched the site, but didn't see this anywhere.

Thanks,
    Darrell
    As a Cingular agent, I will answer a few bits..

1) Different stores charge different amounts for the SmartChip (sim card). Seems different per market. My store charges $20/ea and that's typical around here. I think the cheapest I've seen on howardforums.com is $10. Depends where you go.

2) Going to a Cingular company store might reap you a free new smartchip if you tell them that you are a new customer and feel 'wronged'. If you are a new customer, then you are still in that honeymoon period where you can cancel the line for any reason.

Hope it helps-
    -WC-
  3.    #3  
    Thanks Wildcard. I did just that. They are helping me out with a new SIM card (no cost).

I also got a chance to talk to another about something else that happened. When I ordered the Treo, Cingular had an unlimited internet package for 19.95/month. Now that I have the phone, they don't have it any longer. There is a business plan they are putting me on, unlimited, but a little more.

Extremely glad I went to the store and got a few extras while there.