1.    #1  
    I'm an embedded computer hardware/software engineer. One of the things that interests me is making my gadgets talk to each other and exchange data.

So in the course of fooling around making my GPS'es exchange data with the treo I discovered something slightly interesting. On page 777 of the T600 developer's guide it gives the pinout for the connector on the bottom. I have a serial data cable from the T300 that works with the T600 (*with some issues). Based on this guide and the fact that the data cable works with some modification, I assumed that the treo output low level (TTL) RS232 and the cable sucked power from the host serial port to do the inversion / level shifting necessary to talk to a real serial port. I took the data cable apart out of curiousity and the chip inside the data cable is a MAX3221, an I2C to RS232 converter. So the signal coming out of the Treo is actually an I2C data protocol that gets converted to RS232 inside the cable.

The questions are:
    I need to get out my protocol sniffer and an ohmmeter and ring out the connections but it appears (to me) that the developer guide is wrong. See the descriptions of RXD and TXD on page 777.

If it really is an I2C interface, it could be pretty cool to manufacture some custom interfaces. I haven't gotten familiar with the low level OS interface but I wonder how hard it would be to get access to the I2C lines?

Paging Potatoho, I know you know a lot about this.

David
    Yes, very geeky, indeed. Can you translate the above to English so the rest of us can understand what you're talking about? Basically "what can that do for me?"

Thanks.
    I am no EE, but I'll give it a shot.

Essentially, David went poking around and found out that there may be more functionality out of the serial port for the Treo than might be indicated by the term "serial port". David is further noting that the official documentation does not indicate that there is more there.