1.    #1  
    Hi, I am new to the Mac world, and I just got a brand new iBook (I am falling in love with it BTW!). Anyways...I wanted to check out the WirelessModem app that Scott Grudby (sp) wrote for Mac's (and Windows) computers. I got the connection work...but I am not sure how you go about actually "installing" the program onto your Mac machine! I ran the .dmg file that you can download from the www.notifymail.com website, which created some sort of weird "disc" on my desktop. When I double clicked the disc, it opens Finder and you can then click on the "WirelessModem" app to start the program. The First time you run the program, you have to enter your administrator password (for you Mac machine) to let the app run....at least, the instructions say you should only have to type in the password the first time. But no matter how many times I run it, I always have to type in my admin password...which is a little weird. I tried copying all the contents of this "drive" over to a folder in my Applications folder on my Mac Hard Drive...but I still have the same issue, i.e., must type password every time the software loads. Is this normal?

Thanks for the help!
    -e
    Last edited by zoomer777; 04/27/2004 at 10:53 AM.
  2.    #2  
    As a note...I actually could not get the Network Pref's in Mac OS 10.3 to recognize the "WirelessModem" until I copied the contents of the mounted virtual drive image (.dmg file that I downloaded) to somewhere on the Mac Hard Drive. I still however have to type in my admin password on every load!
    The WirelessModem is an app that you drag to your disc. Every time you plan to use WirelesModem and your Treo, you need to launch the app. Yes, it does ask for your admin p/w (no biggie). If the app is not running, then your Mac will not see the Treo and it will not show up as a network option for internet connect.

FWIW, read his instructions carefully TWICE and follow them to the letter.
  4.    #4