Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Maybe you people can help me here:

I'm a stay-at-home Dad/web designer. My kids are getting older such that i'm starting to ferry them from place to place, and am getting out of the house enough that I might actually need a cel phone (Yes, i'm in Southern California and I don't have a Cel phone!

I love my handspring Visor Deluxe (yes, plain old B&W Visor) and take it with me when I do go out to take notes, access my calendar and contacts and read Avantgo while i'm waiting for my daughter to finish swim/dance/etc lessons

I figure what I want is :[list=1][*]Cel phone with 500 minutes or so, low-use MB data transfer[*]color screen to show off new baby photos[*]Does contacts/calendar/note pad[*]Lets me download reading material from web sites to read on the road[*]Ability to run a telnet application (VNC would be a bonus)[*]MP3 player would be cool[*]Camera is cool, but i've got a 4MP camera for real pictures. But still nice to have[/list=1]

I've always thought that a Treo600 would be the best for me, but now that i'm reading that bluetooth isn't going to be availble on-board for a while (and I need a Cel phone soon!), i'm wondering if the Treo 600 is more for the business user and i'm not the target market.

I'm not even sure why I want bluetooth, since i don't travel witha laptop (heck, I don't even travel at all!), but i'm just thinking i'll have this for a while and I always like my stuff to be upgradable. I assume that i'll get an SD card with bluetooth in a year or so, if they become available.

Any thoughts from the crowd? Is a Treo600 for me or should I save my money, get a free phone with activation from a provider and then get my Treo next year...

Of course, then I have to select a provider... ANyone have a good source for learning about GPRS/CDMA/blah blah for cell phone newbies?

Thanx much!
    www.sfbacell.com - more than you need to know. Has a link for socal. Good luck.