1.    #1  
    I'm a longtime Palm OS PDA user, but I'm new to cell phones. I'm upgrading from my Clie t615 to a Treo 600, taking advantage of Amazon.com's great rebates at this time.

1. My phone is due to ship around January 18-22, according to Amazon. I think I have to have Sprint service setup by January 7 to take advantage of their rebate. Is it possible to setup this account before I have the phone in my hand?

2. Dumb question for all of you experienced guys, but I keep reading about "unlocked" phones. What is that all about?

This is a GREAT site, with lots of activity and helpful folks. I appreciate that everybody keeps it civil around here!

Thanks for your responses.
    Originally posted by Rico3201

2. Dumb question for all of you experienced guys, but I keep reading about "unlocked" phones. What is that all about?

Thanks for your responses.
    My understanding of it, is that the unlocked phones are referring to the gps version, not the CDMA

CDMA is the network sprint and verizon use
  3. NBP