Global Posts
    296 Global Posts
    Okay - first of all, anyone who's seen me gripe here knows that I am an email consultant and have been searching for the perfect IMAP client (for me and numerous customeres) - VersaMail 2.5 is as close as I've seen, and I'm content for now

However, I ran into some setup problems that I will post here in case anyone else has troubles:

Essentially, all of the problems I had were due to the same "bug" (can only call it that, cause it certainly isn't WAD!).

While setting up the email servers and your display name, if you make any mistakes, plan on starting over.

Everything was working fine for me, however when I put my Display Name in, it only said "Danita Za" instead of "Danita Zanre". So I "fixed" it - however, when it tried to send mail, suddenly I had:

Danita Zanre" <danita@mydomain.net>

Notice that the name was in there twice, and a return between the two instances. This made the receiving email server reject the message as "bad" on some servers. So I went in and "deleted" the name - or so it seemed, but next try was this:

Danita Zanre" <danita@mydomain.net>

Same thing - mail server rejected.

So I decided to start over. Created new account - didn't put anything in the Display Name. Accidently typoed my outbound mail server <g>. Suddenly it couldn't resolve mail.mydomain.com.mydomain.com

Third try the charm - it works now perfectly. But I'm going to report this to Palm - no idea if this is a problem across the board with the program, or only with the T600, etc.

Danita
    just a quick question, did you get it to auto fetch? some of us are trying to find a reason it gets hung up when connecting and then times out.
    Global Posts
    296 Global Posts
    Yes, it's auto-fetching just fine - I didn't do anything special - just turned it on. Wish I had some insight as to why it isn't working for you.