1.    #1  
    Greetings! I'm searching best way to rip my audiobook cds and play them on the treo 600 (while saving the most space).

I am very new to palm applications, and cd ripping, codecs, etc. I read though the forums and I would appreciate any advice from the group.

I have a 256 card. If I simply rip to mp3, it appears that many of my books (10 hours plus) won't fit? I see that .ogg has higher compression (about 1/3 the size?), is this the best way?

Things I think I need:

1) Pocket Tunes (basic version)
    2) cd ripper that converts .wav to .ogg (I downloaded db poweramp music converter).

Am I on the right track? Is there a better way?

Much thanks.
    Last edited by sarnford; 11/30/2003 at 10:18 AM.
    Global Posts
    66 Global Posts
    Originally posted by sarnford
    Greetings! I'm searching best way to rip my audiobook cds and play them on the treo 600 (while saving the most space).
    I like AeroPlayer for a MP3 / OGG player, and it supports the Treo 600 with the following caveat:
    AeroPlayer currently runs on the new Treo, but it has not been optimized. There is no skin support and not all of the hard buttons work. The device will be fully supported with, or soon after, the release of AeroPlayer 3.0. cite
    As for converting from CD tracks to .mp3 or .ogg format, I have always used Musicmatch Jukebox for Windows. I would prefer something a little simpler, but it was recommended to me by a friend and I was too lazy to check out alternatives.

Once you've ripped to .mp3 or .ogg, you can just copy the files to a SD card using a cardreader. Or the more painful way is to do 'install to card' from your HotSync install tool.

Hope this helps. I am by no means one of those people who is good with audio stuff, so there are probably much better ways of doing this by now. I would be interested to hear what you find out, as I find myself faced with 8 hours of driving each weekend these days and have been considering books-on-CD for some time now.