Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Prior to using the Treo 600, I have been using Nokia mobile phones for several years. There's a very basic and useful feature in the Nokias which doesn't appear to be available in the Treo 600.

There's a global setting in the Nokias that will request a report notification from your mobile service provider for each SMS sent. I found this to be a particularly useful feature since not all SMSes are, for several possible reasons, sent instantaneously: the receiving phone could be switched off, or be out of range, or the mobile service provider's server could be particularly busy.

What the report notification feature does is to request a report from the mobile server when the SMS is successfully sent to the receiver, i.e. the sender is notified when the SMS has actually been delivered to the recipient.

I've been using this "return receipt" feature for several years now and am disappointed to find that the Treo 600 apparently does not have it?!? Can anyone shed some light on this? Or perhaps suggest a third-party application, or even a hack, that would allow me to regain this feature?

I know not many people actually makes use of this feature, but once you've tried it, you'll never want to go back. There's nothing worse than wondering whether a message has been successfully delivered or is lost in space...
    yeah i also really miss this feature from my siemens s45... any leads anybody????
    It appears to be supported in the API, as quoted from the Treo600DevelopersGuide:

Sending Options:

When an SMS message is sent to the network, several options may be defined by the sending entity. The sending options are defined in the structure SMSSendOptions.

struct SMSSendOptions {
    Boolean freeReply;
    Boolean statusReport;
    UInt8 validity;
    };

freeReply
    This indicates to the network that the sender of the message is charged with the cost of a reply to this message.

statusReport