1.    #1  
    I have no experience with the previous treos but I do have experience with the old handsprings (Platinum, edge) and palm OS 5 (Tungsten T)

First question: The hardware serial port on the old handsprings was not a true "RS232C" serial port but actually had some conversion circuitry embedded in the cable. This conversion circuitry pulled power off of the host serial port. That was fine if you wanted to talk to a regular powered serial port but I want to talk to some other serial devices that don't have power available. Does anyone know if the serial output of the Treo 600 is true RS232C, i.e. can I hook up up Rx, tx, and gnd and talk to any TTL level device?

Second question,
    I learned the hard way that OS 5 changes the way serial ports are opened. This may not be exactly correct but if I understand it correctly in OS4 and below the serial ports opened automatically when the unit was powered. In OS 5 the ports are closed until someone or something opens the port. Some software that was written for OS4 does not work simply because they assumed the ports were already open. Has anyone fooled with the hardware serial ports? I want to eventually interface my GPS and a few other toys.

Got the developers guide but its 500 pages and I can't seem to find the info I am looking for.

David
    Originally posted by djs_tx
    Does anyone know if the serial output of the Treo 600 is true RS232C
    The Treo 600 uses the same connector/cables as the 180/270/300. I don't have one yet, but that makes me 99.99% certain that they have the same old Handspring non-RS232 levels at the connector.

I learned the hard way that OS 5 changes the way serial ports are opened.