Global Posts
    459 Global Posts
    I'm looking particularly for the theme from Dallas, but not the same one i seem to be finding all over the web. I'm looking for one without the intro. By the time the ringtone is up to the recognizable part of the tune i've answered the phone, so it just does no good for me. OR, does anyone know how i can take the intro off the existing ringtone. I've never worked with MIDI before but am very familiar with other sound formats and hacking them. I'm on a Mac running OSX if anyone knows of any software for this.
    thanks
    a dirty mind is a terrible thing to waste
    randyg,

I do not know of a Mac MIDI program off of the top of my head. I have a PC and use AnvilStudio, http://www.anvilstudio.com .

If you have the MIDI file, email it to me and I will delete the "Intro". I usually shrink the MIDI to fit within 30secs of play time, that's about 4-5 rings on the cell phone.

Dave Lindberg
    lindberg at nmprofessional dot com
    how do you assign midi files as ring tone in treo 600??? i was able to load the midi tones on the sd card but i cant seem to access the file when i try to assign the tones on my phone ringer....i also tried loading the midi tone on the palm directly but it wont accept....it says i can only loand pbc or prc files directly to palm.

thanks!
    Chuaaa,

You can either:
    1- Place your ringtone on a webite and use Broswer 3.0 (a.k.a Web) to click on it to download, or
    2- Email it to yourself using an email program that supports attachments and open the attachment.

Midi files have to be phone resident, not SD/MMC card resident and must be loaded into the Ring Tone Database using one of the above methods.

Dave Lindberg
    thanks alot......

btw...would you know of any public sites where i can download some nice midi tones i can use for my ringer!
    Chuaaa,

As per Handspring.com checkout: www.mididb.com . They have a good selection. Get Midi files under 64K, or they will not load!