Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Per that sticky message above...

Too many forums.

Divide and Conquer will defeat only TreoCentral.

I hear a death knell.

Buh bye!
    Even though I don't have the same stance as the poster of this thread (I love it here, not going away), I do agree the deviding the forums up the way it has been done makes little sense.

There are just too many forums, and without enough activity in any one of them people will just stick to the forum they like and continue to post. (sorta like how people are doing this now)

I have been chatting on message boards like this for over 17 years, and I can tell you I have seen this move by board moderators MANY MANY times and it always ends up in failure.

just my .02
    Agreed.

One of the things about the 600 is that it is the first Treo to run Os5 therefore there are a lot of software issues specific to it.

Right now, here is where all the discussion is. Trying to artificially send people off to different places doesn't work and just causes resentment.

It's like being at a fun party where the host tries too hard to 'organise' the guests...
    Palm Vx -> Palm M505 -> Treo 180g -> Treo 600 (UK GSMrevA)
    The biggest problem with the organization of the forums here is that distinguishing between a "software" and "hardware" issue generally is not possible. How does one really know what is the cause of the problem? Or, for example, if there is a question about software compatibility, is that a "hardware" or "software" question? This leads one to need to post it to either one or the other of the forums, or both, which definitely is not desireable. To make this point further, think about the issue of "cases", which supposedly is an "accessory" issue. However, isn't a question of whether the phone (hardware) fits in a specific case actually related to the hardware?