Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hey everyone,

I have a 128MB SD card and stored 21 songs on it which takes up 90 MB. They all have encoding between 128 and 192. I was wondering how low encoding you can go without really noticing too much difference, and instructions on how to lower the encoding because I have no idea!

Thanks in advance!
    -M-
    My Treo: Treo 650, Sprint CDMA. SW: 1.08, HW: A.
    My Plan: $105/mo for 2000 AT, Unlimited N&W starting at 7pm, Unlimited PCS to PCS, No Roaming Charges in the U.S., Unlimited PCS Vision, Unlimited SMS & PictureMail.
    My Stats: Using an average of 50MB of PCS Vision per month. 2,500+ photos in my PCS PictureMail account. Had a Treo 600 since 10/24/03, switched to a Treo 650 on 1/5/05.
    hi modma,

i was also wondering how to get the most music out of my SD card, so i did some experimenting with the Ogg Vorbis format (as an alternative to MP3). and as a musician, i consider myself to be fairly critical of compressed digital audio, but i was *more* than impressed with ogg!

using an ogg quality setting of zero (the scale ranges from -1 to 10), i was able to get a very comparable-sounding song at about 50-60% the filesize of a 128kbps MP3!

i tried a few different CD-ripping applications (that had built-in ogg encoding) and found good results using CDex: http://www.cdex.n3.net/

if you don't have the original music source, you may have to do some converting from MP3 to WAV to Ogg, but i think CDex can help you do that, too.

hope this helps!
    p.s.: also note that pTunes can play a mix of MP3s and Oggs with no problems! (you don't have to convert existing MP3s if you don't want to)
    Originally posted by modma
    Hey everyone,

I have a 128MB SD card and stored 21 songs on it which takes up 90 MB. They all have encoding between 128 and 192. I was wondering how low encoding you can go without really noticing too much difference, and instructions on how to lower the encoding because I have no idea!