1.    #1  
    Hi There,

I am new to Palm in general and the Treo 600 in particular. So far I like it a lot.

I was able to install AOL's AIM and it works well. AOL in the US wants $20 to download it but AOL in the UK has it for free. Go figure...

ICQ has a version for Palm but I was not able to connect. Did anyone have better luck?

What about Yahoo Messenger? Is there a Palm version?

Thanks,
    Izzy
    Try Verichat for the T600....

www.pdaapps.com

For $20 ..you can have all three AOL, YAHOO, and MSN....unlimited!!

IGO
    GIVE DEBBIE THE CHIMP.....GIVE DEBBIE THE CHIMP!!!
    The free version you got from the UK is an older version that will cause you problems. You want versin 1.2 for Palm OS 3.52 and above.

Ken
    Try Verichat for the T600....
    My PC multi-IM application (Trillian) polls the servers every so often. I understand GPRS is "always" on, kind of like ADSL/Cable Modem, but in the UK we are charged for the amount of data downloaded, not the connection. Therefore there will be a charge for everytime the app "polls" the servers. Is this correct?

oBoy!
    Originally posted by kschoenberg
    The free version you got from the UK is an older version that will cause you problems. You want versin 1.2 for Palm OS 3.52 and above.

Ken
    I have version 1.1 (Build 5) and don't really have any serious problems with it. I downloaded it free off AOL's web site a long long time ago when it was a free download.

What are the differences between mine and version 1.2?

Thanks
    Functionally there don't appear to be any differences, other than you won't get that nasty reset error every so often. The error is sporadic, but well documented.

As for Verichat, both it and the other chat proxy don't allow you to have your AIM preference set to only allow people on your buddy list to send you IMs. Without this setting I get deluged as my screen names are among the first on AOL (1987) and are pretty simple (sportsfan, etc.).