1.    #1  
    Has anyone tried using RabbIT Proxy with the 600? I'm playing around with it for VPN access and it seems it might be a good match for the Treo since it does image compression on the fly and removes some ads.

Anyways, wondering if anyone had tried it out, it seems to work okay with the simulator, but I'm sure that doesn't convert to real world performance.

RabbIT Proxy can be found: http://www.khelekore.org/rabbit/

-Rob
    Cool. Looks like it's worth checking out. Blazer only accepts one proxy setting. Does Rabbit handle HTTPS as well HTTP?

Olop.
    Global Posts
    291 Global Posts
    hey, would you happen to know what the proxy is that blazer accepts? thanks.
  4.    #4  
    Yes, Rabbit supports SSL tunneling (basically pass-through). It's a snap to setup on Linux:

untar
    cd RabbIT2
    ./jr

Assuming you have a compatible JRE around. You just set your proxy to <hostname>:9666 and off you go...in the basic mode.

-Rob
    I'm new to proxies. What is the server address, and port? Is it free to use?
  6.    #6  
    This proxy is one you run on your own machine (or one you have access to) and it does the image compression and advert removal then sends the results on to your client, be it a PC or whatever.

It looks interesting to me since I don't really want a stream of 100k images when I hit most websites and I'm mobile. I'm actually browsing right now via RabbIT proxy...but not on a 600.

-Rob
    Hi,
    I was looking at Rabbit a couple of weeks ago. Do you know if blazer supports gzipped text? I'm assuming that's one of the things Rabbit does.
  8.    #8  
    I don't know if the actual treo600 supports gziped content, but I know the simulator does. I'd be quite interested to see if anyone has luck with it.

If someone wants to try it out, I could make my RabbIT proxy availble to them if you message me. I have a machine that I could throw it up and and you could set your proxy to my machine and see how it works.

-Rob