1.    #1  
    Just so I understand all this...yes or no answers would probably suffice. Let's assume that I cannot have my computer on and on the network at all times.

1 - Employer does not support either Treo nor Blackberry. I can use existing email on board the Treo to fetch my email, but it will not be instant. Yes? No?

2 - If I convince my employer to buy Good or similar software, I will have Outlook-like functionality on the Treo, including instant email. Yes? No?

3 - Employer only supports Blackberry, and will not support Treo. I can still fetch my email through existing software on the Treo? Yes? No?

1. yes. if you have access to mail via pop 3.
    2. that is my understanding.
    3. yes. if you have access to mail via pop 3.

third party software will do imap if you need that.
    Felipe
    On the road to 5,000 posts
    Life is what happens between Firmware releases.
  3.    #3  
    Boy, I'm really a newbie at all this...

POP3? Meaning I can access via a web browser? I can access my corporate email via Netscape. Is this sufficient?

I know a lot more about guitars than I do computers and phones...
    If your employer doesn't provide POP3 access and they don't install Good, you may also be able to get in via a VPN connection. Mergic VPN might be able to help you to access your email, along with an IMAP connection. PM me if you have questions.
    Originally posted by Guitar Dad

POP3? Meaning I can access via a web browser? I can access my corporate email via Netscape. Is this sufficient?

POP = Post Office Protocol, and is probably the main mechanism for e-mail applications contacting mail servers - POP mail servers, that is. You don't need a web browser to use POP, but you do need an e-mail client which understands POP, and an internet connection.
    Originally posted by Guitar Dad

since you use netscape, i'm almost positive that you will be able to check for email with your treo.

Felipe
    Originally posted by Felipe