Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. BD1
    Global Posts
    231 Global Posts
    JakeE, WBO, and other knowledgeable Treo experts.....what is your best guess for a hi-res 320x320 or better Treo 600?

6 months?
    9 months?
    12+ months?

How soon did the 270 get released after the 180?

I am getting the current Treo 600 asap but I will upgrade as soon as a better screen is available. Coming from the pocketpc world I think this will be the biggest shortcoming for me. Right now bluetooth is not as import to me but realize for other it is more important.
    I'm not an expert by any means, but I think it's going to be a balancing act for them - the best way to give sales a jolt after the T600 has been out for a while would be to release a 601 or 650, with higher resolution and maybe one or two other minor tweaks. On the other hand, this is such a niche item - will it make financial sense for them to have TWO versions floating around in the same general time frame? As far as I know, the Treo 300 that you'd buy today is identical to the release version, other than bug fixes.

I think the best conservative guess is that we'll have to wait for the next model, meaning a year or more. But who knows ...

I will say, for my uses, resolution isn't nearly as big a deal as I thought it would be. I moved from an iPAQ 5455 to a Treo 300. The iPAQ screen is definitely better, but after I got some play out of my system re: loading a photo editor, Age of Empires, etc on the iPAQ, I lost interest in that stuff and reverted to calendar, address book, and (on the Treo) e-mail, IM. 160x160 is IMO fine for those things, although 320x320 would be a little nicer.
    is there any chance that they'll release a new model sooner, since they've got palm backing again and palm releases what, 3 models at a time? It's going to be tough going back to a 160x160 screen from the Clie. Especially when it comes to the maps and other reference materials I like to keep on my pda.
    Originally posted by BD1