Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Business Week refers to Microsoft as shameful and confirms what I have been saying all along. Microsoft Pocket PCs represent Symbolism over Substance in its shining hour. Definitely NOT Cool!!!

I am a Designer for a living. For fun I am a design fanatic of the highest order. I eat, sleep, and drink design. Saul Bass, the great graphic artist once said, “Design is thinking made visual.” I agree.

My philosophy as a designer has always been to create products that are timeless. Timeless Design by definition is when a product appears to be from the past and the future simultaneously.

In my recent review of the new Treo 600 I bashed the PocketPC and called it a piece of garbage. I also said "The Treo 600 is the Evolution of the Revolution in Every Way, Shape and Form. At the end of the day if a product design is not very useful it has no real social value." I was specifically refering to the Microsoft PocketPC with this statement.

It appears that BusinessWeek magazine agrees with me. More on that later.

In my front page article called, “Treo 600: Love at First Sight” and this is why I said it:

“In a weird kind of way the iPaq when compared to the Treo 270 is kind of like comparing a dramatic woman to a mellow one. I am sooo sick of overly dramatic persnickety women. I’ll take the mellow, nice, easygoing one any time.

I have always believed the reason why the Handspring Treo would beat out the Microsoft Pocket PC in the final analysis was because Jeff Hawkins always carried his PDA with him and relied so heavily on it. Not to mention, Jeff Hawkins invented the original Palm Pilot.

Conversely, I have only ever seen one picture of Bill Gates with a PDA in his hand and I think it was likely staged. I could be wrong, but I would be very surprised.