1.    #1  
    I want to know if there is a way to get the Treo to act like a pager. I know that when I have the phone off, out of area, or on the net, that people get my voice mail and there is a pager function that will SMS me and give the number.

People would like to reach me w/o calling. In other words, page me to get a hold of them, but they can't use or don't have access to a SMS serive or my PCS mail.

Also my home answering machine will page me with the number of the person that calls when I am not home and add a tag at the end to let me know if they left a message or not. I would like to use this with the Treo300 as well.

So is there a backdoor to the pager area? A button that they can push when they hear the first ring of my phone? I know I can hit the down button to put calls to voice mail, but if they are calling me, it';s importate.

Sorry for all the questions and long winded posts today..LOL
    I am new to this, I had an Edge,pager, and phone before. Now just the treo
    Regards,Matt Burkhard
    This probably doesn't directly answer you question because I'm a Cingular customer, but if you dial your voicemail number (not from your cell phone) does it give you an option to send a page? Cingular does and I use it to have our office voice mail system send me a page which shows up on my treo as an SMS when I have new voicemail messages and I have set up my answering machine at home to do the same. It will send me an SMS when I get a new message at home.
  3.    #3  
    Yea, that sounds like what I want. Thanks again for all the help.
    If Sprint has that option that would be what I want. Do you know if Sprint has a voice mail number (different then my phone number, correct?)

So I take it you have a 270?

Thanks, matt burkhard