1.    #1  
    I've been using the Treo and Palm OS for two months, so I am still a novice, but thought I would post my favorite software anyway.

Backup Buddy -- saved me the purchase price in aggravation at least once and will probably do so many times.

Vindigo -- very useful for travel to new cities, useful for addresses and movie times at home. Worth the price to me.

Avantgo -- great reading for airplanes or other times when you aren't connected to the web. Especially good for users whose web access is expensive. Free, at least to 2MB, which is plenty for me. Watch out for listed services that aren't functional, like Car and Driver.

Documents-to-Go -- this is expensive but it gives you MS Office functionality in one stable, easy to use program, including picture viewing, spreadsheet, word processing. I am testing Inbox to Go, which is ok so far but only supports one pop3 account.

Handy Shopper -- Truly great freeware. Initial input of data is a bit of pain, but I use constantly. Besides grocery and other shopping databases, I have a packing list (frequent traveller; actually use two separate lists, with and without rest of family), to do list for getting house ready for trips, even a list of videos that I might bring for my child.

Neocal -- pretty good scientific calculator. Don't have comparison, though.

MaTreo -- The price is right

Power Jog Dial -- makes the treo more useful one handed; I used this a lot at first, but less so now

TreoButton -- Easily set meaning of 4 buttons, plus shift + button

Chrome -- choose alternate colors. My intention was to try to make full daylight easier to view, but I haven't found an improvement. Still, I like the personalization.

Eudora -- supports HTML mail. I wish people would stop sending HTML mail, but since they continue to do so, what can one do? I don't use the browser.

Filez -- This is a terrific program for seeing what is going on behind the scenes.