1.    #1  
    I had bought the Handspring black holster for the Treo and noticed that there are many scratches into the paint on the back of the Treo. Has this happened to anyone? I have been careful with my Treo so I have to conclude that the scratches appeared when I moved the Treo in and out of the holster.
    Get the Treo Action Pack Case or a case from another company outside of Handspring. I knew that holster would not work well. (It just looked like it might not work out.) I use the Treo Action Pack Case and it works OK. No scrathes, but I've heard there are other 3rd party cases out there.

Maybe Handspring will let you exchange the holster for the pack case, since it's the same price as the pack case.
    Hmmm....

Depends on your definition of "work well".

Will it create some "wear marks" on the back of your treo from repeated insertion/removal? Absolutely.

Is it convenient and easy to use? I think so, and I've been using it for a few months.

And it hasn't dropped my phone once yet.

I've had a ton of phones. I resign myself to the fact that it will get scratched and don't worry about it. So for me, the holster works well.

But to each his own.

Paul
    Yea I guess it depends on what suits you. For me "wear marks" are a no-no.

The Pack Case has also been easy to use and no drops .

I prefer a soft case.

Other cases mentioned in other threads are:
    http://www.vajacases.com/Vaja/catalogo.nsf/(ViewPPEN)?Openview&Cat=treo
    and
    http://www.casetechworks.com/cgi-bin...html?E+scstore
  5.    #5  
    I am going to look into other cases. I agree that there will be wear marks on the phone. But I have only had the phone for 1 week! At that pace I would need to schedule a Sherwin Williams paint job within the month!
    For what it's worth, my holster broke after about 3 uses. Considering I've been using other phones and holsters for 3 years, I feel pretty confident that I am capable of using one. Mine broke at the plastic hinges.

dammit.