1.    #1  
    I have a lot of prior experience with many PDAs, but this is my first Treo, so I have a few questions and then a few comments on the 270 for those looking for user impressions.

Questions:
    Handspring seems to have done a lot of effort into making functions on the screen controllable from the keyboard. I think this is the right thing to do, but there seem to be some glaring omissions unless I'm just not finding the info. In the phone application, when you receive a call I can't find anyway to control the on-screen button. My pressing need is that I define extra keys for my voicemail numbers. When you call, it displays a button to play those extra keys (I thought it should have done this automatically), but the only way I see to press that button is tapping the screen. Only the speakerphone button seems to be able to be activated by pressing the space key. Anyone know how to use the keyboard for the other buttons?

In the launcher, both the jog dial and the scroll buttons seem to only scroll by page. There doesn't seem to be any way to select an app to launch except by tapping the screen. On a Sony Clie, the scroll buttons scroll by page, but the jog dial scrolls by app and selects it. It seems the Treo doesn't do this, am I missing something?

On the 270, option + any of the four app buttons will launch pre-defined apps. You can set the normal key mapping in prefs, but no way to control the option key mapping. I know there are a couple of apps out there to let you do this, but why didn't Handspring provide this?

It seems the CD only contains the installers? For example, there's no way to install one-touch without going through the configuration utility? Seems very strange to me. Did I miss something? No other demo software or anything on the CD?

Comments: